For Stooo's new Sammy

UFOs, new tech, it all goes in here. Have you tried switching it off and back on ?

For Stooo's new Sammy

Postby McAz » Mon Dec 03, 2018 2:37 pm

Most new Sammys an input resolution of 1K (1080) or 4K (2160) at 60Hz - but not for 2K (1440) at 60Hz.

If you ever need this resolution - and it looks a lot better than 1080 and without stressing lesser hardware too much (we can't all afford a 1080ti like Posh Nickers :snooty:) - here's how:

1. Open NVIDIA Control Panel (or the Catalyst Control Panel for AMD users)

2. Under the Display section, click on Change Resolution

3. Set the resolution to 1080p 60hz and click Apply. The resolution MUST be in 1080p (not 4k, not 1440p!!) for this to work.

4. Click Customize... to create a custom resolution. Check the box to "Enable resolutions not exposed by the display"

5. Click Create Customer Resolution...

6. Set the Horizontal Pixels to 2560, the Verical Lines to 1440, and the Refresh Rate to 60. Click Test.

7. You should see a Test Successful message. Click Yes to finalize the setting.

8. Click OK to exit the Custom Resolution dialog box.

9. Scroll to the top of the Resolution list and you should see your newly-created resolution. Select it and click Apply.

10. Finished! 1440p in 60hz.
User avatar
McAz
 
Posts: 31920
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:57 am

Re: For Stooo's new Sammy

Postby McAz » Mon Dec 03, 2018 3:12 pm

McAz wrote:Most new Sammys accept an input resolution of 1K (1080) or 4K (2160) at 60Hz - but not for 2K (1440) at 60Hz.

If you ever need this resolution - and it looks a lot better than 1080 and without stressing lesser hardware too much (we can't all afford a 1080ti like Posh Nickers :snooty:) - here's how:

1. Open NVIDIA Control Panel (or the Catalyst Control Panel for AMD users)

2. Under the Display section, click on Change Resolution

3. Set the resolution to 1080p 60hz and click Apply. The resolution MUST be in 1080p (not 4k, not 1440p!!) for this to work.

4. Click Customize... to create a custom resolution. Check the box to "Enable resolutions not exposed by the display"

5. Click Create Customer Resolution...

6. Set the Horizontal Pixels to 2560, the Verical Lines to 1440, and the Refresh Rate to 60. Click Test.

7. You should see a Test Successful message. Click Yes to finalize the setting.

8. Click OK to exit the Custom Resolution dialog box.

9. Scroll to the top of the Resolution list and you should see your newly-created resolution. Select it and click Apply.

10. Finished! 1440p in 60hz.


Also, if anyone needs advice on DirectX 9.0c errors (xinput1_3.dll missing etc) on Win 10 let me know - most of the solutions online are not reliable.
User avatar
McAz
 
Posts: 31920
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:57 am

Re: For Stooo's new Sammy

Postby Stooo » Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:48 pm

Is that specific to one port? The PS3 is working fine on one of the other ones.
User avatar
Stooo
Site Admin
 
Posts: 86634
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:24 am
Location: Everywhere, like shit in a field.

Re: For Stooo's new Sammy

Postby McAz » Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:01 pm

Stooo wrote:Is that specific to one port? The PS3 is working fine on one of the other ones.

All HDMI inputs. The highest resolution the PS3 outputs is 1080p so the 2K resolution is not needed.
User avatar
McAz
 
Posts: 31920
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:57 am

Re: For Stooo's new Sammy

Postby Stooo » Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:09 pm

McAz wrote:
Stooo wrote:Is that specific to one port? The PS3 is working fine on one of the other ones.

All HDMI inputs. The highest resolution the PS3 outputs is 1080p so the 2K resolution is not needed.


Sweet, thanks for the advice. I will have a play at the weekend! :thumbsup:
User avatar
Stooo
Site Admin
 
Posts: 86634
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:24 am
Location: Everywhere, like shit in a field.

Re: For Stooo's new Sammy

Postby Stooo » Wed Dec 05, 2018 6:57 pm

I bought a GeForce GT 240 1GB from a IT recycling company that I visit daily for twenty quid, specs here and the chap who runs it chucked in a 5 metre HDMI cable for shits and giggles :thumbsup:
User avatar
Stooo
Site Admin
 
Posts: 86634
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:24 am
Location: Everywhere, like shit in a field.

Re: For Stooo's new Sammy

Postby Guest » Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:31 pm

:pmsl:
User avatar
Guest
 

Re: For Stooo's new Sammy

Postby Stooo » Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:37 pm

Guest wrote::pmsl:


Yeah, OK. I just took off the side and there are no expansion slots... :woteva:

Fuck it, I'll just get a splitter :mrgreen:
User avatar
Stooo
Site Admin
 
Posts: 86634
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:24 am
Location: Everywhere, like shit in a field.

Re: For Stooo's new Sammy

Postby McAz » Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:03 pm

Stooo wrote:I bought a GeForce GT 240 1GB from a IT recycling company that I visit daily for twenty quid, specs here and the chap who runs it chucked in a 5 metre HDMI cable for shits and giggles :thumbsup:


The cable's probably more valuable than the card. :gigglesnshit:

Didn't understand the expansion slot bit - but have fun.
User avatar
McAz
 
Posts: 31920
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:57 am


Return to Science And Technology

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest