Tipping

Nice threads, no trolling please.
Forum rules
Comments are the responsibility of the poster

Tipping

Postby luddite » Sun Jul 03, 2016 12:28 pm

I frequent a local country pub regularly for a meal and a drink and wonder if a ten percent tip is the norm.

What do you guys think?
luddite

Re: Tipping

Postby Stooo » Sun Jul 03, 2016 12:30 pm

It's cruel to cows.
Stooo
Site Admin

Postby PinkSmurf » Sun Jul 03, 2016 11:03 pm

Waitresses and waiters do rely on tips to boost their wages so yes, please tip if you can afford it. However I worked in a restaurant in Portscatho in Cornwall in my early 20s and the owner kept our tips so I told customers she did this. One guy said I'd ruined his meal, the tosser. He complained that tipping was part of the enjoyment for him. Anyway the boss found out I'd been refusing tips and threatened to sack me. I left in the end. She used to be a stripper and should have known better than to rob my tips. She would have relied on tips to supplement her income when she worked in clubs as a dancer. Anyway I worked in other places including bars, hotels and nightclubs and the tips were definitely appreciated.
PinkSmurf

Postby Trapper John » Mon Jul 04, 2016 9:52 am

I thought this was going to be a thread about fly tipping, so I not got much to contribute - but yes, personally I think 10% is sufficient to leave and I do - thing is many places don't think it is enough.

Just for the record on fly tipping - I would never tip a fly who has just walked over my dinner with dog shit all over his feet.
Trapper John
Gunner.

Location: Champions league next season - prediction date: 10/5/2018

Postby luddite » Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:02 pm

This is now a moot point as the pub in question has now installed a sound system and they play muzak to their guests. :brickwall:

"I won't be back "said in my best Arnie impersonation. :awesome:
luddite

Postby Frank39 » Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:12 pm